The organizers of the 2020 Advanced Accelerator Concepts Workshop (AAC2020) have canceled this year’s event due to an abundance of caution surrounding the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic. This difficult decision was taken with the well-being of our colleagues, staff, and the local community foremost.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your interest in AAC2020. We will be in touch as we learn more in this rapidly evolving situation that affects us all.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory is unable to reimburse travel expenses, including any cancellation or change fees; please work with your home institution for this.

Wishing you the best of health in the coming months,

Eric Esarey, Chair, AAC2020

The AAC Prize recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to the science and technology of advanced accelerator concepts. It will be awarded during the Banquet at AAC2020. The Prize is comprised of a monetary award and a plaque, and is made possible by generous donations from our sponsors and exhibitors.

Prize Nominations

One Prize is given at each AAC Workshop. The winner is chosen by the Prize Selection Committee. Nominations comprise a letter by the nominator, accompanied by the nominee's CV and list of publications. Up to three additional support letters can be added. Please include the following information with your nomination letter: name, title and affiliation of the candidate, a brief (one line) citation describing the achievement for which the award is sought, and a list of relevant publications describing this work. The listed relevant publications should be appended to the nomination package.

Please send nominations electronically to aac2020@lbl.gov.

The deadline for nomination packages is May 1, 2020.

Previous AAC Prize Awardees

AAC 2018: Eric Esarey (LBNL)

AAC 2016: Warren Mori (UCLA)

AAC 2014: Phil Sprangle (Maryland)

AAC 2012: Wim Leemans (LBNL)

AAC 2010: Robert Palmer (BNL)

AAC 2008: Chan Joshi (UCLA)